Women's Lacrosse Rolls Past Eastern Connecticut State

Women's Lacrosse Rolls Past Eastern Connecticut State

KEENE, N.H.--Kaitlin Nolan scored four goals, Jenna Bellano and Eliza Witherbee each had three, and the Keene State College women's lacrosse team eased to a 15-5 win over Eastern Connecticut State University in Little East Conference women's lacrosse action on Saturday at Owl Athletic Complex.

The Owls scored early and often, rolling out to a 9-1 lead at halftime to improve to 6-3, and 2-0 in the LEC.  Eastern Connecticut dips to 2-8, and 1-1 in the LEC.  The Owls have won four of five and remain undefeated at Owl Athletic Complex this season.

Kelly Chadnick got the Owls on the board 94 seconds into the game with a free position goal, and Polly Grey doubled the lead with an unassisted tally less than a minute later.

Erin Conn got the Warriors on the board with 24:25 on the clock, but ECSU would not score again in the first half.  The Owls rattled off seven straight goals to end the half, beginning with Nolan scoring her first of the game off a pass from Witherbee, who got the next KSC goal at the 20:55 mark of the period.  The two would combined for the next two goals, as Nolan scored from a Chadnick pass and then fed Witherbee for a man-up goal at 14:54.

Jenna Bellano had a hand in the next three Keene State goals, scoring two around setting up Chadnick for another.  

The Owls continued to cruise in the second half, going up 14-1 on the strength of two goals from Nolan, and one each from Withebee, Bellano, and Christa Demovellan.  The Warriors ended a scoreless streak of nearly 45 minutes when Meg Eremita scored with 9:12 left in the game.

Erin Taylor played 50:30 in the KSC net, making five saves.  Libby Curran made two stops in 9:30 of action.  Taylor Emmerson recorded six saves for ECSU.

KSC will look to maintain their perfect home record when they welcome Westfield State for a 7 p.m. start on April 10.  The next opponent for Eastern Connecticut State is also Westfield State; that game will be on April 8 at 7 p.m.