Women's Lacrosse Upset by Plymouth State In Little East Title Tilt

Women's Lacrosse Upset by Plymouth State In Little East Title Tilt

KEENE, N.H.--Plymouth State University scored the final four goals of the game to upset top-seeded Keene State College 8-4 in the final of the Little East Conference Tournament championship on Sunday at Owl Athletic Complex.  

The Panthers (12-4) won their fifth Little East Conference Tournament championship and their first since 2006.  Keene State (13-5), which had won two of the last three LEC title games, was seeking their fourth title.

PSU goalie Lorin Field was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player.  Field made 15 saves against Western Connecticut State University in the semifinal round and 15 more against the Owls on Sunday.  The Panthers will find out their opponent when the NCAA releases the selections at 9:30 p.m. on NCAA.com.

Goals were at a premium in the lowest scoring title game in LEC history; Amy MacDonald opened the scoring with an unassisted goal just over a minute into the game, and the Owls responded with Kaitlin Nolan's free position shot at 23:22.  The Panthers made it 2-1 when Molly Gleason converted a pass from Shannon Connerty.

KSC took its first lead on a goal from Kelly Chadnick off a turnover by Field, after Julie Trombetta had tied the score with an unassisted goal at 18:35.  PSU levelled things up before the break when Caroline Vonachen scored with four seconds left before halftime.

The Panthers again opened the half with a quick goal, this time off the stick of Kaitlyn Wilder, only to see Nolan set up Ashley Borjeson for a goal with 23:40 to play to tie the score at four.  

Keene State would not score again, as Connerty gave the Panthers the lead for good 54 seconds later, then added another with 12:13 to go.  Late goals from Rachel Fistori and Jordyn Godfrey added gloss to the scoreline.  

Erin Taylor made eight saves in the net for Keene State, which outshot the Panthers 24-17.  The Owls had defeated Plymouth State 9-6 in the regular season matchup on April 17.