Eleventh Heaven; Owls Roll Along To LEC Championship

Eleventh Heaven; Owls Roll Along To LEC Championship

The Keene State women's swimming and diving team won its 11th straight LEC title. NORTH DARTMOUTH, Mass.--Junior Hope Walsh broke three Little East Conference Championship records and one school mark as the Keene State College women's swimming and diving team won their 11th straight conference championship at the Tripp Athletic Center on Saturday.

It was the 14th championship overall for the Owls, who have only not won in 2003, when it was cancelled, and in 2004 and 2005,  Otherwise, the Owls have taken it from 2000-02, and every year from 2006 to 2017.  

The Owls also own every LEC Championship swimming record and their 557 points in today's win represent the sixth highest total by a champion in the history of the meet.






  • The meet got off to the perfect start, with Alexandra McCafferty, Madison Pechulis, Sophie Hayes, and Paige Westley taking the 200 medley relay in 1:54.59.
  • Hope Walsh recorded the first of her three individual wins on the day by smashing the championship record in the 1,000 free style in 10:20.93, beating the previous mark set by KSC's Caity Shea in 2014 by nearly 32 seconds.  It also set a new KSC mark, previously held at 10:28.34 and set by Julie Trodden in 2013.
  • Walsh also broke the LEC Championship record in the 200 freestyle, touching in with a time of 1:55.43, edging past Shea's 2013 record of 1:57.42.  Westley (2:02.55) was second, while Gabrielle Brzozowski was third in 2:03.35.
  • The Owls had four of the first five finishers in the 100 backstroke, led by Sydney McGough's win in 1:01.30.  McCafferty was third in 1:02.91, just ahead of Katie Brandeberry (1:02.97) and Sophie Hayes (1:04.79).  
  • Olivia Pechulis won the 100 breastroke in 1:11.48, while Hayes won the 200 fly in 2:12.64.  Margaret Dean led a 1-2-3 finish for Keene State in the 50 free, with Brandeberry in second in 26.11 and Brzozowski in third in 26.60.  
  • Dean notched a second win, taking the 100 free in 55.16, with another 1-2-3 finish, as Rachel MacKinnon finished second (57.71), and Brzozowski was third (57.58).  McCafferty won the 200 backstroke in 2:12.95, with Brandeberry right behind in 2:15.72.  
  • Walsh picked up her third win and third LEC Championship record, breaking her own mark in the 500 freestyle in 5:10.22. Hayes won the 100 fly in 59.17, with Dean right behind in 1:00.19, and the Owls closed out the meet with a dominating 400 free relay, as Dean, Brandeberry, Walsh, and MacKinnon finished in 3:43.90, nearly 15 seconds ahead of second place UMass Dartmouth.