32 Keene State Student-Athletes To Be Inducted Into Chi Alpha Sigma

32 Keene State Student-Athletes To Be Inducted Into Chi Alpha Sigma

KEENE, N.H.--The Keene State College Department of Athletics and Recreation is pleased to announce the 31 student-athletes who have been selected for induction into the Theta chapter of Chi Alpha Sigma, the National College Athlete Honor Society.

The National College Athlete Honor Society was founded at DePauw University, Greencastle, Indiana, on May 17, 1996, by DePauw head football coach and professor of kinesiology, Nick Mourouzis. Mourouzis recognized that there were many organizations that honored top or elite athletes with high academic achievements, but none that honored all participants of athletic teams who were letter winners of their sport and who maintained a high cumulative grade point average. Chi Alpha Sigma hopes to bring honor and recognition to deserving student-athletes, their families, teams, athletic departments, and colleges in much the same way as Phi Beta Kappa honors scholastics.

Criterion for induction include:

  • Must attend a four-year accredited college or university that is a member of the NCAA or NAIA
  • Must have earned a letter in a varsity intercollegiate sport sponsored by the NCAA or the NAIA.
  • Must have achieved at least junior academic standing by the fifth semester or seventh quarter as determined by the certifying institution.
  • Must have achieved a minimum cumulative 3.4 (on a 4.0 scale) or equivalent grade point average by the time of the selection process. Local chapters may require a higher minimum cumulative grade point average, if they choose.
  • Must be of good moral character.

The ceremony will take place on Monday, April 2, at 3 p.m. in Centennial Hall in the Alumni Center.  Brief refreshments will follow.   The ceremony is free of charge and online registration can be completed here.   Please direct questions to Assistant Athletic Director Abe Osheyack at Abe.Osheyack@keene.edu or 603-358-2630.

Name Year Sport Major
Jared Hannon Jr. Cross Country/Track and Field Management
Emily Jarka Sr. Cross Country/Track and Field Elementary Education
Katharine Lynch Sr. Cross Country/Track and Field Environmental Studies
Gavin Thomas Jr. Cross Country/Track and Field Architechture
Julia Babbitt Jr. Field Hockey Exercise Science
Mia Brickley Jr. Field Hockey Elementary Education
Josh DeGrenier Jr. Men's Basketball Safety Studies
Paul Beling Sr. Men's Lacrosse Elementary Education
Joseph Downey Jr. Men's Lacrosse Safety Studies
Charles Molloy Jr. Men's Lacrosse Safety Studies
Julie Elwell Jr. Softball Geography
Olivia Indorf Sr. Softball Health Science
Courtney Votto Jr. Softball Psychology
Lauren Arsenault Jr. Swimming and Diving General Science
Kathleen Brandeberry Jr. Swimming and Diving Architechture
Alexandra McCafferty Sr. Swimming and Diving Elementary Education
Hope Walsh Sr. Swimming and Diving Graphic Design
Dominique Pascoal Sr. Track and Field Theatre and Dance
Riley Bunker Jr. Volleyball Secondary Education/Math
Rachel Lamica Sr. Volleyball Architechture
Sandra Purcell Sr. Women's Basketball Psychology
Emily Parker Jr. Women's Lacrosse Nutrition
Samantha Sullivan Jr. Women's Lacrosse Secondary Education/Math
Cora Telles Sr. Women's Lacrosse Safety Studies
Katelyn Bottis Jr. Women's Soccer Nutrition
Morgan Kathan Sr. Women's Soccer Physical Education
Patricia Norton Jr. Women's Soccer Athletic Training
Zoe Paige Jr. Women's Soccer Physical Education
Julia Pearson Sr. Women's Soccer Nutrition
Katie Silegy Sr. Women's Soccer Communication
Stephanie Spitz Sr. Women's Soccer Safety Studies
Tyrah Urie Jr. Women's Soccer Early Childhood Education