Nichols Receives First Team All-America Honors

Nichols Receives First Team All-America Honors

KEENE, N.H. - A busy week of awards and honors for Keene State College senior Ty Nichols (Springfield, Mass.) wrapped up with one more when he was named a First Team All-American when the 22nd annual national selections were announced today.

Nichols becomes the second KSC men's basketball player ever to be named a first team All-American, joining Chris Coates (2000-2001), who was honored with the same award by the NABC, and the only player to be recognized as an All-American by both and the NABC.  Earlier in the week, Nichols was named to the NABC All-District team and a second team NABC All-America selection.  Tyler Kathan, a third team All-America selection in 2008-2009 was the only previous Owl to be recognized by, while Coates and Dave Stantial (2001-2002) were NABC All-America selections previously. had already honored Nichols earlier this week when he was tabbed as the Northeast Region Player of the Year and to the All-Northeast First Team.

Nichols wrapped up one of the best careers in school history with one of the best seasons in school history, which saw him become Keene State's new all-time men's basketball scoring leader and break the single-season scoring record.  He garnered numerous awards throughout the year, including the Little East Conference Player of the Year and the Little East Conference Tournament Most Outstanding Player.  He put on a KSC uniform one more time earlier Saturday at the 2019 Reese's Division III College All-Star game, played in Fort Wayne, Ind. at the site of this year's Final Four.  Nichols led his team, the NABC East All-Stars, with 18 points, nine rebounds, four assists and one steal and nearly helped bring them back from a 21-point deficit late in the first half before falling 104-101.  He came alive after halftime, making 5-of-11 from the field and 4-of-8 from three to score 14 points while adding five rebounds, one assist and one steal. (Box Score / Photos) All-America Team
(selected by staff from nominees for All-Region)

Player of the Year: Aston Francis, G, Wheaton (Ill.)
Rookie of the Year: Anders Nelson, G, St. Thomas
Coach of the Year: Matt Lewis, UW-Oshkosh

First team
G Aston Francis   Wheaton (Ill.) Sr. Tyler, Texas
G Ben Boots UW-Oshkosh Sr. Kimberly, Wis.
F Austin Butler    Whitman Sr. Los Angeles, Calif.
F Ryan Garver Nebraska Wesleyan Sr. Lincoln, Neb.
F Ty Nichols Keene State Sr. Springfield, Mass.
Second team
G Nolan Ebel Augustana Sr. Denver, Colo.
G Booker Coplin Augsburg Jr. Shakopee, Minn.
G Marcos Echevarria Nichols Sr. Lynn, Mass.
F Connor Raridon North Central (Ill.) Jr. Plainfield, Ill.
C Ryan Bruns Ohio Northern Sr. Chickasaw, Ohio
Third team
G Cam Wiley Swarthmore Sr. Atlanta, Ga.
G Daniel Rosenbaum Pomona-Pitzer Sr. Los Altos Hills, Calif.
G Jake Ross Springfield Jr. Northampton, Mass.
F Zac O'Dell Swarthmore Jr. Schenectady, N.Y.
F Will Carius Monmouth Jr. Bettendorf, Iowa
Fourth team
G Ryan DiCanio Loras Sr. Bartlett, Ill.
G Cam Fails Hanover Sr. Cincinnati, Ohio
G Kena Gilmour Hamilton Jr. New Paltz, N.Y.
F Bradley Jomard MIT Sr. Paris, France
C Jack Flynn UW-Oshkosh Jr. Appleton, Wis.
Honorable mention    
G Bobby Casey Williams Sr. Scranton, Pa.
G Brady Rose Illinois Wesleyan Sr. Bloomington, Ill.
G Ben College Whitworth Jr. Portland, Ore.
G Marcus Carter Christopher Newport Sr. Williamsburg, Va.
F Sam Toney New Jersey City Jr. Plainfield, N.J.