Field Hockey Drops 6-1 Decision to Pride

Field Hockey Drops 6-1 Decision to Pride

KEENE, N.H.--The Keene State College field hockey team fell to Springfield College by a 6-1 score at Owl Athletic Complex on Thursday night.


  • Keene State: 2-4
  • Springfield: 5-0

How it Happened

Erica Stauffer got the Owls on the board just 2:11 into the contest, turning home a pass from Nina Bruno, but the Pride responded with three goals in a 16 minute span.  Paige LaPerle tied the game up in the 10th minute, then put Springfield in front for good with 15:59 on the clock with her second of the night.  Maggie Kennedy made it 3-1 with a goal off a pass from Dani Sweet.

Springfield carried a 4-1 lead into halftime, when Kennedy scored her second of the game less than two minutes before the break.   The Pride added two more goals in the second half, including an unassisted tally from Taylor Low in the 40th minute and a penalty stroke from Taylor Conley.  

Ally McCall had the Owls' best chance in the second half, but Springfield goalie Emmalie Drake denied her with a pair of stops.  McCall also hit the post in the 51st minute.  Drake made four stops on the Owls in the final 10 minutes, stopping McCall twice, Kendal Brown and Nina Bruno.

Jordan LaRaus played 26:02 in goal for the Owls, making a pair of saves.  Rachel Loseby played the other 43:58 and made four saves.  Springfield goalie Emmalie Drake made eight saves to earn the win.

Penalty Strokes

  • Springfield was receiving votes in the latest Division III National Field Hockey Coaches Association Poll.  The Pride, off to their best start since 2007, received 76 points in the poll.
  • The Pride held a narrow margin in shots (17-16) and in penalty corners (8-6).
  • Springfield is the alma mater of KSC head coach Amy Watson and assistant coach Carole Kinsella.

Up Next

  • Keene State returns to Little East Conference play when they travel to Fitchburg State on Saturday, September 16, at 10 a.m.
  • The Pride are off until Wednesday, September 20, when they head to St. Joseph's (Maine) for a non-conference tilt scheduled to begin at 4 p.m.