Wydra Breaks 15 Year Hammer Record at Springfield Invitational

Wydra Breaks 15 Year Hammer Record at Springfield Invitational

SPRINGFIELD, Mass.--Senior Melissa Wydra set a new Keene State College record in the hammer at the Springfield College Invitational on Saturday.

Women's Highlights

Wydra threw the hammer 43.46 meters, shattering a 15 year old record of 42.52 meters previously held by Christine Leggett in 2003.  Her second place overall finish qualified her for the New England Division III Championships on May 4-5.   Joining her at the New England Division III Championships will be classmate Dominique Pascoal, who qualified in the javelin with a second place finish throw of 36.06 meters.

Lynne Hebert added a fourth place finish in the 800 meters in 2:24.38, just ahead of Brittany Gravallese in 2:25.79.  The Owls also had four of the top six finishers in the 3,000 meters, led by Lauren Perkowski's second place finish in 11:18.13.  Katharine Lynch was fourth in 11:28.76, while Christina Martin (fifth, 11:31.94) and Alana Olendorf (sixth, 11:48.55) also scored.

Both the Owls' 4x400 meter relays were in the top 5, with the foursome of Nicole De Almeida, Taylor Bisaillon, Brittany Gravallese, and Alexandria Papadimoulis in third in 4:14.61, and Hebert, Martina, Laura Dawson, and Mila Barrera in fifth in 4:37.14.

Erin McNemar finished in a three way tie for eighth in the high jump, at 1.49 meters, while Bisaillon was sixth in the shot put at 10.59 meters and Wydra was eighth at 10.31 meters.  Haleigh Therrien took seventh in the discus with a toss of 31.03 meters, and Bisaillon added a fifth place finish in the javelin at 30.99 meters.  

Men's Highlights

Brandon Castor was second in the 400 meters, finishing in 51.24, with Jared Hannon in seventh in 52.50 and Clinton Mungeta eighth in 52.53.  Ben MacDonald won the 3,000 meters in 9:11.62, just ahead of Ian Connell, who was second in 9:22.05.

Hannon, Castor, Mungeta, and Alex Medina comprised the 4x400 meter relay that was second in 3:31.16, while Brendan Caccicola, Christopher Pratt, Tyler DeChane, and Zach Coburn teamed up for a fourth place nod in 3:45.80.

Tyler DeChane won the 1,500 meters in 4:15.32.