Leaders of the Pack: Perkowski, Owls Reclaim LEC Title

Leaders of the Pack: Perkowski, Owls Reclaim LEC Title

SMITHFIELD, R.I.--After a one-year absence, the Keene State College women's cross country team is back in a familiar place - ahead of everyone else in the Little East Conference.  Junior Lauren Perkowski picked up individual medalist honors to lead the Owls to their 18th title in the last 19 years.

Women's Championship

  • Perkowski posted her fourth individual race win of the season and became the 12th different KSC women's runner to take home the individual title.  Her time of 19:23.9 seconds easily pushed her past Rhode Island College's Margaret McCaffrey, who was second in 19:57.8.
  • Perkowski joins Mary Proulx (2000-02), Karen Jordan (2003), Erin Landon (2004), Jennfer Adams (2005-07), Breanne Lucey (2006, co-champion with Adams), Rita Marcotte (2008), Allison Chamberlain (2009), Paige Mills (2010-11), Samantha Goldsmith (2013-14), Kait Wheeler (2015), and Lindsay Szuch (2016) as KSC winners.
  • Perkowski, who also picked up All-LEC Honors, was joined in the top 10 by Lynne Hebert (seventh, 20:31.8) and Laura Dawson (eighth, 20:32.5).   The latter two also were All-Conference honorees.
  • Christina Martin (11th, 20:49.4) just missed out on an All-Conference nod, while Brittany Gravallese was 29th (21:46.4), Alana Olendorf was 30th (21:51.2), Megan Conners 66th (25:47.0), and Kara Guinan 72nd (26:37.5).
  • Keene State picked up 54 points to best defending champ Eastern Connecticut State by eight points, as the Warriors finished with 62.

Men's Championship

  • The Keene State men were fourth overall, totaling 85 points.  Southern Maine defended their title with 43 points, pipping UMass Dartmouth (48 points) to the championship.
  • Cameron Stinchfield (ninth, 27:55.9) and Iid Shiekh-Yusuf (10th, 27:57.4) grabbed All-Conference honors for KSC.  It was the third All-LEC honor in his career for Iid Sheikh-Yusuf.
  • Rob St. Laurent (14th, 28:10.2), Gavin Thomas (23rd, 29:25.9), Zach Coburn (29th, 29:47.7), Tyler DeChane (33rd, 30:19.5), Cameron Giordano (37th, 30:41.7), Dylan Richards (52nd, 31:55.1), Jackson Brannen (59th, 32:44.4), Alex Medina (61st, 33:07.6), and Tristram Patoine (73rd, 35:43.0) completed the KSC lineup.
  • Plymouth State's Sam Brunnette won the individual race for the third year in a row.